Q:

Does Florida extradite?

A:

Quick Answer

Florida extradites people wanted for crimes in other states. Congress passed the Uniform Criminal Extradition Act in 1985, which facilitated the process of interstate cooperation for the return of fugitives to a demanding state. All 50 states adopted the majority of the provisions set by the Uniform Criminal Extradition Act.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

States generally do not demand the return of violators for small infractions or misdemeanors. The U.S. Constitution stipulates that states should only pursue extradition in cases of felonies and treason. A valid arrest warrant must be prepared in the requesting state, and the formal written request for extradition needs to come from the governor or similar executive authority.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is the number of people allowed in a three-bedroom house in Florida by law?

    A:

    By law, six people can live in a three-bedroom house in Florida. This number can be more or less depending on the actual living space.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you become a notary in Florida?

    A:

    As of October 2014, a Florida notary applicant must take three hours of educational training, contact a bonding agency, complete the application and submit the completed application to the bonding agency. The bonding agency gives notaries their commission certificates and seals. The state approves applications, and the governor of Florida makes final decisions to approve or deny applications, according to Governor Rick Scott's official website.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How can you find a pro bono attorney in Florida?

    A:

    As of 2015, Florida Legal Services, Inc. is a good location for help in finding pro bono or low cost lawyers in Florida. This is a nonprofit organization that was founded in 1973.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a first-degree felony in Florida?

    A:

    A first degree felony in Florida is a crime that is punishable by more than one year, up to 30 years imprisonment, 30 years in the department of corrections or a fine of $10,000. The common first degree felonies include burglary with battery and assault, trafficking of controlled substances, lascivious or lewd battery, kidnapping, exploiting the elderly an amount of $100,000 or more, child molestation and sexual battery.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore