According to the Florida State Department of Law Enforcement, a first degree misdemeanor in Florida is a crime that is considered less serious than a felony but more serious than a second degree misdemeanor. Some examples of first degree misdemeanors in the state of Florida include resisting arrest, animal cruelty, possession of cannabis and some types of theft.Continue Reading
First degree misdemeanors are handled by a county court and have a maximum penalty of one year in a county correctional facility. As stated by the Florida State Department of Law Enforcement, misdemeanors are still considered crimes and the perpetrator is subject to arrest. This includes the possibility of being handcuffed, fingerprinted and having a mug shot taken. First degree misdemeanors can also appear on a person's permanent criminal record, which can possibly harm employment and educational opportunities.
Crimes that are more serious than first degree misdemeanors are considered felonies and are subject to trial by a circuit court and may include incarceration at a state penitentiary. There are also second degree misdemeanors that are less severe than first degree misdemeanors and include such crimes as driving without a license and prostitution. The penalty for second degree misdemeanors is up to 60 days in a county court and a fine up to $500, according to the State Attorney Office for the 18th Judicial Circuit.Learn more about Law
ABC News reported that George Zimmerman was found not guilty of the crime of second degree murder. His trial ended on July 13, 2013 with a unanimous verdict of not guilty.Full Answer >
A person can be charged with a misdemeanor or felony hit and run if that person leaves the scene of an accident, according to LegalMatch. Penalties include imprisonment, fines and parole. The victim of a hit and run can also sue for monetary compensation from the accident's perpetrator. Wikipedia notes that a driver's license can be suspended or revoked, and insurance companies may cancel the driver's policy.Full Answer >
The United States Department of Justice states that harboring a fugitive can be considered either a felony or a misdemeanor. A person convicted of the crime is generally subject to imprisonment for up to one year, however, in some circumstances the penalty can be increased to up to five years in prison.Full Answer >
A motion hearing is the proceeding that a judge schedules for parties in a case, which could be a felony, misdemeanor, or other type of case, to orally argue their positions. The judge calls this proceeding in the event no ruling has been issued beforehand in response to a motion, and it affords the judge the opportunity to directly ask the parties any necessary questions. A motion is the formal request asking the judge to decide or act on a matter.Full Answer >