According to Sullo and Sullo Attorneys at Law, first-degree felonies are serious crimes in the state of Texas that are second only to capital felonies in terms of severity. Those convicted of first-degree felonies are likely to receive harsh punishments, including expensive fines, lengthy probation periods and considerable amounts of prison time.Continue Reading
Examples of first-degree felonies in Texas include aggravated robbery, aggravated assault of a public servant, aggravated kidnapping and aggravated sexual assault. Further, the law firm of Sullo and Sullo states that burglary of an inhabited building with the intent to commit a felony, arson of a dwelling, causing serious bodily injury to a child, senior or disabled person, escape from custody with serious bodily injury, murder, solicitation of capital murder and trafficking of children under 14 years of age are also first-degree felonies in Texas.
Texas state law grants judges broad latitude with sentencing those convicted of first-degree felonies. Often, the defendant’s criminal history and the circumstances surrounding the crime are taken into consideration. The firm of Sullo and Sullo explains that defendants who are sentenced to 10 years or less in prison are sometimes permitted to serve their sentences on probation or under community supervision. Defendants without prior criminal histories are more likely to avoid jail time.Learn more about Law
In the state of Texas, creditors do not have to give notice before repossessing a car due to missed payments or not having adequate car insurance, as of 2015, according to AVVO. However, some Texas laws require the car owner to be notified before the car goes up for sale, giving him the option to buy it back on his own.Full Answer >
In the state of Texas, the legal principle of adverse possession covers the idea of squatter's rights, according to Lone Star Land Law. This refers to a situation in which one legally claims property that originally belonged to someone else.Full Answer >
When the state of Texas legal system deems a parolee to be in violation of their probation a motion to revoke probation is filed, and if granted, an arrest warrant may be issued. Before probation can be revoked, a probation revocation hearing is held in front of a judge, according to Guest and Gray criminal defense lawyers.Full Answer >
In order to petition for an emancipation in the state of Texas, it is necessary to be a Texas resident, be able to provide personal support and be 17 years old, as stated by FindLaw. As with every other state, Texas recognizes 18 years of age as the legal age for a resident to be considered an adult.Full Answer >