A first degree felony in Florida is a crime that is punishable by more than one year, up to 30 years imprisonment, 30 years in the department of corrections or a fine of $10,000. The common first degree felonies include burglary with battery and assault, trafficking of controlled substances, lascivious or lewd battery, kidnapping, exploiting the elderly an amount of $100,000 or more, child molestation and sexual battery.Continue Reading
The defendant may also be asked to pay restitution to the victim as the court may order. In Florida, offenses are usually sentenced with regard to a score sheet known as the criminal punishment code of Florida. The Florida legislature assigns a numerical value to a felony, based on a certain ranking system. A higher ranking indicates more points on the score sheet. If the score is more than 44 points, a minimum imprisonment sentence is administered. If the score goes below the 44 points, it is not mandatory that a judge gives a prison sentence, but he may do so if he wishes.
The most common possible consequences of the first-degree felony are loss of civil rights, ineligibility in obtaining state licenses, ineligibility to holding public office, ineligibility for state or federal aid, and inability to get hired or even rent an apartment.Learn more about Law
In Florida, a third-degree felony is the least serious felony-related charge within the state and often comes with a maximum punishment of up to 5 years in prison. This degree felony is one of the most frequently committed offenses in the state, and often, first-time offenders are charged with third-degree felonies.Full Answer >
Court-ordered community service allows a person convicted of a crime to work for a community in exchange for a reduction of fines or imprisonment, or both, according to FindLaw. Sometimes, this alternative type of sentence can be substituted for an entire prison sentence.Full Answer >
As of October 2014, a Florida notary applicant must take three hours of educational training, contact a bonding agency, complete the application and submit the completed application to the bonding agency. The bonding agency gives notaries their commission certificates and seals. The state approves applications, and the governor of Florida makes final decisions to approve or deny applications, according to Governor Rick Scott's official website.Full Answer >
In order to be emancipated in Kansas, a minor must be at least 16 years old and a resident of his county for one year. He must then petition his case in open court, and the district determines if he is capable of conducting his own affairs. A minor may be considered automatically emancipated if he gets married or joins the armed forces.Full Answer >