Illinois residents can fill out firearm owner���s identification card applications online on the Illinois State Police website, reports the Illinois State Police Firearms Services Bureau. Alternatively, they can call the Illinois State Police to initiate their application and payment, and complete and send back the form that the Illinois State Police sends them. Applicants need to provide personal and contact information, valid state identification, a color photograph, and the fee.Continue Reading
As of 2016, the firearm owner���s identification application fee is $10, which online or phone applicants can pay by debit card, credit card or electronic check, explains the Illinois State Police. A firearm owner���s identification card is valid for 10 years. Only Illinois state residents, U.S. military personnel stationed in Illinois and out-of-state residents who must carry firearms during employment in Illinois are eligible for firearm owner���s identification cards. Applicants must be at least 21 years old, but minors can also obtain the identification cards if parents or guardians sponsor them.
Applicants for firearm owner���s identification cards must not be felons, narcotics addicts, illegal aliens, mentally disabled or dishonorably discharged from the U.S. military, according to the Illinois State Police. To renew firearm owner���s identification cards, applicants follow the same procedure for online or phone applications. If the Illinois State Police deny an application, applicants can appeal by mail to the Firearms Services Bureau, the director of the Illinois State Police, the circuit court or other relevant agencies.Learn more about Guns & Weapons Laws