To file a lien in Florida, there first must be a judgment passed. The judgement must grant a settlement in favor of the creditor. The creditor must then show proof of judgement granted to the county recorder in the county where the debtor owns property, according to Nolo.Continue Reading
Liens can be placed on personal property of the debtor; however, that must be filed with the Florida State Department, according to Nolo. Liens can be placed on primary residences, but they are difficult to enforce due to the homestead exemption.
A property is on record for up to 10 years from the day it was reported to the county recorder. It may be renewed for an additional 10 years if it is again reported prior to expiration of the initial lien. The lien can only be in place for up to 20 years. This statue was put into effect as of 2006, according to The Florida Bar Journal. The prior law stated that liens could be placed on a property every seven years, and after the 10th year, it was beyond the statue of limitations. This allowed property owners to refinance once the lien became 10 years old; however, this is no longer the case.Learn more about Debt Law