"Failure to obey a traffic control device" means that the driver has not obeyed a recognized, legal traffic device such as a speed limit sign, traffic light, pavement markings or other signage, according to the Adirondack Daily Enterprise. Common violations include running a stop sign, driving through a red light, passing in a designated no-passing zone, ignoring a yield sign and driving the wrong way on a one-way street.Continue Reading
Oregon State Statutes note that a vehicle driver can be issued a ticket for failure to obey a traffic control device if the driver does not obey the instructions of the device or does not display the legally appropriate response to a traffic control device. The driver can be issued a citation for one or both of the two failures to obey.
If a driver is speeding, a police officer can issue a citation for speeding, for failing to obey a traffic control device or the speed limit sign, or for both offenses. In this case, if the police officer issues only the citation for failing to obey the speed limit sign, the officer is choosing a citation that may have a lower fine and carry fewer points on the driver's license, according to the Adirondack Daily Enterprise.Learn more about Driving Laws
The most popular traffic signs include those advising drivers to 'stop' or 'yield' and those designating the speed limit, lane usage and parking instructions. Other common signs include the warnings 'do not enter' and 'wrong way,' as well as those instructing drivers to turn right or left.Full Answer >
Improper lane usage is defined by the state of Illinois as driving a vehicle in any way other than what is practically possible within a single lane of traffic and not moving out of that lane until the driver has determined that the move can be safely made without hampering the operation of other vehicles. This is considered a moving violation punishable by a fine.Full Answer >
A driver cannot get a price lowered for a traffic violation once it is issued, but there are steps that can be taken to reduce violation prices before they occur. There are extenuating factors, which vary by state, that can impact a ticket's price, according to DMV.org.Full Answer >
In the city of St. Paul, the state of New Jersey and other U.S. locations, if the intersection doesn't have a traffic signal or a stop sign, a driver must park at least 20 feet away from the corner. If the intersection has either one, that distance is 30 feet.Full Answer >