The number of feet a driver must park away from an intersection varies depending on state and local laws. For example, the City of St. Paul, Minn., states that drivers must park at least 30 feet from an intersection with a stop sign or stop light.
A:Although rules vary according to the municipality, in most places drivers must park a minimum of 15 feet away from either side of the fire hydrant or face a penalty. A parked vehicle owned by the fire department and clearly marked may be parked nearer to a fire hydrant.
A:Depending on the severity of the offense, the state the offense happened in and how old the ticket is, a driver may be able to have a traffic ticket removed from a current driving record. Expungement of a driver’s record refers to the removal of points and traffic violations that were placed on the driver’s record after a conviction for violating traffic laws, according to the Maryland Department of Transportation motor vehicle registration.
A:A turnabout, roundabout or rotary is a continuously moving traffic circle that flows in one direction and serves as an intersection for two or more roads. Vehicles enter a turnabout by yielding to oncoming traffic, as moving vehicles in a traffic circle have the right of way.
A:The size of a parallel parking space varies based on local regulations and the type of vehicle the space is intended to hold. For example, in Baltimore County, the proper size is 7.5 feet by 21 feet for regular cars and 7.5 feet by 18 feet for compact cars.
A:If you get caught speeding in a construction zone, in most states, the fine is double the fine for the speeding offense had it not occurred in a construction zone. In some states, a predetermined dollar amount is applied to a construction-zone speeding ticket. In others, jail time may be required.
A:While parking laws vary from city to city, most state that drivers must park within 12 inches of the curb with both tires parallel to the curb when parking on the street. Failure to do so often results in a citation, especially in areas that are heavily patrolled.
A:All children who are under 5 years old or weigh less than 40 pounds must be seated in the back seat of the car if the car has passenger-side airbags. However, if the child's car seat is airbag-compatible, then the child can be seated in the front seat.
A:A delayed green light means that traffic stopped on one side of an intersection with a traffic signal get the green light to proceed prior to the traffic on opposite side of the intersection. Traffic on both sides get a green light; the delay just means that one side moves prior to the other.
A:Many state and city laws prohibit parking within 30 feet of stop signs, such as in the law detailed by the Ohio Revised Code Laws and Rules. A similar law can be found in the Michigan Vehicle Code, which applies the same standard to traffic-control signal and flashing stop signs.
A:Improper lane usage is defined by the state of Illinois as driving a vehicle in any way other than what is practically possible within a single lane of traffic and not moving out of that lane until the driver has determined that the move can be safely made without hampering the operation of other vehicles. This is considered a moving violation punishable by a fine.
A:A yellow line divides traffic flow in opposite directions, and motors are not allowed to cross the line, according to New York Safety Council. The same rule applies to double yellow lines, but motorists can cross under certain circumstances, such as when making left turns out of driveways.
A:According to the California Department of Motor Vehicles, solid, parallel yellow lines indicate that vehicles are not allowed to pass. Vehicles are prohibited from driving on the left side of these double solid lines.
A:A deceleration lane is a traffic lane on an expressway that gives a driver a brief opportunity to slow his vehicle prior to reaching an exit ramp. These lanes are important, as they allow drivers to prepare for slower city driving after high-speed highway driving.
A:According to OSHA, the Fair Labor Standards Act prohibits anyone under the age of 16 to drive a tractor that has more than 20 power-take-off horsepower. They are also restricted from connecting or disconnecting parts or implements to these tractors.
A:The initial effective date of seat belt legislation varies according to the state. New York was the first to make seat belts a legal requirement for adults and non-infant passengers on Dec. 1, 1984. Other states followed over the next 10 years with Maine becoming the last state on Dec. 26, 1995.
A:A red yield indicates that a driver must prepare to come to a full stop and yield to pedestrians and vehicles with the right-of-way if either are present, according to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. If neither is present, the driver may proceed without stopping.
A:The number of feet a driver must park away from an intersection varies depending on state and local laws. For example, the City of St. Paul, Minn., states that drivers must park at least 30 feet from an intersection with a stop sign or stop light.
A:People need to wear seat belts and insist that any passengers in the car do so as well because wearing them saves lives in the event of an accident. Another important reason for wearing them is that the law requires it, and there are legal consequences for not doing so.
A:The color scheme of traffic lights is the result of borrowing from railroad signaling schemes of the time, according to Mental Floss. The first traffic lights were green and red, and amber later became the third color to provide a buffer between the "stop" and "proceed" signals. This was to prevent accidents due to sudden light changes as well as to allow the policemen time to switch the lights manually.