Alabama also lacks specific requirements to become a process server. However, those who serve should become bonded and insured.
In California, if a person serves more than 10 papers per year, they must register in the county in which they serve. There is no testing involved and all process servers must post a $2,000 bond or cash deposit.There is no experience, testing or education required to serve papers, according to Serve Now.
Kentucky has no license or education requirements for its process servers. Across the border in Indiana, a process server must be at least 18-years old and not be a party to the case to become a process server.
Other states that have no requirements to become a process server include Arkansas, Utah, Tennessee, North Dakota and Rhode Island. Washington, D.C. also has no restrictions.
States where it is more difficult to become a process server include Texas, Massachusetts, and Connecticut. Many states rely on sheriffs or sheriffs deputies to serve papers, and some do not employ process servers. Those interested in becoming a process server should check with their state to find out more.Learn more about Law