A driving under the influence, or DUI, conviction can make it difficult or more expensive to get to work, may lead to suspension of a professional license, can cause missed work for mandatory court appearances and treatment, and may make an applicant seem less appealing for a job. In the case of a DUI defendant with a commercial driving license, or CDL, a DUI may cause a revocation of the CDL and loss of employment.Continue Reading
In addition to suspending the license of those who are convicted of DUI, thus making it harder to get to a job, many insurance companies also refuse to insure a driver with a DUI conviction or will only write a policy at an exorbitant price, assuming the driver is able to keep his license. This adds to the expense of getting to work, or may make getting to work via bus or other public transportation complicated.
Some professional licenses may be revoked if a licensee is convicted of DUI. Lawyers, doctors, nurses and others may find themselves without the ability to work, depending on the state and the profession, when a professional license is revoked.
In some states, conviction of a crime is grounds for termination. In those states, a plea of guilty or finding of guilty may put an end to the relationship between a boss and employee.Learn more about Crime
In most states, a charge of DUI, or driving under the influence, is classified as a misdemeanor, according to FindLaw. However, DUI charges can be raised to felony level if certain circumstances occur. For example, if the driver has previous DUI convictions, the charge can be enhanced to felony status.Full Answer >
Although penalties vary by state, drivers with CDLs convicted of driving under the influence or driving while impaired face suspension or revocation of their driving credentials. The length of suspension or revocation depends on the nature of the offense and the driver’s record.Full Answer >
The penalties for driving on a suspended license vary by state and include fines, jail time and continued suspension of the driver's license, according to CriminalDefenseLawyer.com. The penalties are often more severe for repeat offenders. Driving after the suspension period has passed without satisfying the court's requirements for license reinstatement can result in being found guilty of driving with a suspended license or driving without a valid license.Full Answer >
Because it is a Class C misdemeanor, the penalty for minor consumption of alcohol in Indiana is up to 60 days in jail, a fine of up to $500 and license suspension, as of 2014. The laws concerning alcohol in Indiana define a minor person to be younger than 21, according to DrivingLaws.org.Full Answer >