What are the divorce laws in Colorado in regards to receiving alimony?


Quick Answer

As of 2014, Colorado courts calculate alimony payments according to a mathematical formula based on each spouse's income, says Colleen O'Connor in The Denver Post. Marital property and each spouse's financial needs and resources are also factors in determining alimony in Colorado.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Alimony is established by taking 40 percent of the income of the spouse who earns the most and subtracting 50 percent of the other spouse's income, explains O'Connor. The advisory formula applies to marriages that are three to 20 years old, in which the combined annual income is less than $240,000. Colorado law requires judges to use a formula to calculate alimony, but the resulting amount is just a guideline. A judge's final determination of payments takes other factors into account, such as children.

Alimony in Colorado is not granted automatically, according to Colorado Family Law Guide. Judges look at each spouse's standard of living before the marriage and consider a spouse's ability to pay. Other elements the court weighs include the age and circumstances of spouses seeking maintenance and the amount of time needed for them to gain employment. Alimony in Colorado may be granted for a limited period of time or it may be a lifetime award. The death of either spouse terminates alimony, as does the remarriage of the spouse receiving payments.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions