A license is not required for operating a legal daycare in Virginia. Daycares in Virginia may be based out of a home or a center, with or without a license. However, daycares in Virginia must be regulated, or approved by local rather than state agencies.Continue Reading
Daycares licensed in the state of Virginia must meet the standards of the State Board of Social Services, which are enforced by the Virginia Department of Social Services through scheduled and unscheduled inspections. Regulations for licensure cover such issues as immunizations and physicals for children, tuberculosis screening for employees, and the physical and mental health of staff and volunteers, as well as attendance records and parent agreements. Licensing dictates the level of education, credentials and experience needed by the director of the daycare, who must be over the age of 21. Program leaders must have a combination of experience and training, including classes in child development and playground safety. Daycare aides must be at least 16 years of age. Anyone in the daycare who administers medication to children must complete a training program approved by the Board of Nursing. In order to obtain the state license, all employees and volunteers must pass a criminal background check.
Because of its lax licensing requirements for daycares, Virginia is at the bottom of a national ranking by Child Care Aware, a national child care information resource.Learn more about Law
In Virginia, nolle prosequi means a case was dismissed by the prosecution, according to Nolo. Whether to dismiss a case is within the prosecutor's discretion. The defendant has no right to a dismissal.Full Answer >
Looking up the owner of a license plate is illegal in all 50 states, including Virginia, except when performed by a law enforcement officer in the course of his duties. However, it is possible to see if a personalized license plate is available through Virginia's Department of Motor Vehicles website.Full Answer >
The penalty for a first driving under the influence offense in Virginia is a suspended license for one year and a fine ranging from $250 to $2,500, states DrivingLaws.org. If the driver's blood alcohol content was 0.15 percent or more, the punishment may also include a minimum five-day jail sentence.Full Answer >
Virginia Medicaid forms are available online at DSS.Virginia.gov. The forms must be printed from the Department of Social Services website, completed, and then sent or delivered to the local Department of Social Services office. Applications may also be filed at some of the larger Virginia hospitals.Full Answer >