Q:

What are the criminal trespassing penalties in Ohio?

A:

Quick Answer

As of 2014, the penalty for criminal trespass in Ohio is a jail sentence of up to 30 days and a possible fine of $250. Aggravated criminal trespass carries a jail sentence of up to 60 days and a possible fine of $500.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Criminal trespass is defined as knowingly entering or staying in a house, in a building or on a piece of land belonging to another person without his permission. It is classified as a fourth-degree misdemeanor if no violence is involved. Criminal trespass that involves violence, or a threat of violence, is classified as a first-degree misdemeanor. In either case, a judge may waive prison and fines and instead sentence the offender to probation or community service.

Learn more about Crime

Related Questions

Explore