Indiana Code 35-42-3 describes criminal confinement as intentionally confining or moving someone from one place to another through fraudulent means or without consent. Criminal confinement is considered in Indiana to primarily be a Level 6 felony except in extenuating circumstances and can carry a sentence of up to six months in prison.Continue Reading
Indiana Code 35-42-3 notes that criminal confinement is considered a Level 5 felony if the crime is committed using a vehicle, results in bodily harm to the confined, or the confined person is less than 14 years old and is not the child of the person committing the crime. A Level 5 felony is punishable by up to one year in prison.
Criminal confinement is a Level 3 felony when it involves use of a deadly weapon, leads to the serious bodily harm of someone other than the captor or if the crime is committed on an aircraft. Level 3 felonies in Indiana carry a sentence of up to three years in prison if convicted.
The state of Indiana considers criminal confinement to be a Level 2 felony if the confinement is committed to help someone incarcerated to escape prison or is the result of hijacking a vehicle. If the person committing the crime does so with the intention to claim a ransom or uses the confined as a hostage or shield it is also considered a Level 2 felony. Level 2 felonies in Indiana carry a prison sentence of up to 10 years, according to Indiana Code 35-50-2.Learn more about Crime
Because it is a Class C misdemeanor, the penalty for minor consumption of alcohol in Indiana is up to 60 days in jail, a fine of up to $500 and license suspension, as of 2014. The laws concerning alcohol in Indiana define a minor person to be younger than 21, according to DrivingLaws.org.Full Answer >
A class C infraction in Indiana is a type of misdemeanor offense. This is the lowest level of criminal charges that a person can face in the state. A person charged with such an infraction has likely committed a minor crime or traffic violation.Full Answer >
Privacy laws vary somewhat between different states, but taking a picture or video of someone without their consent or knowledge in a private residence is an almost-universal example of a violation of privacy. A related violation of privacy would be hacking into a personal account and viewing or distributing material from it, which happened with a number of candid celebrity photos in 2014.Full Answer >
According to the Indiana General Assembly, without consent, a student is not allowed to drop out of school in Indiana until the age of 18. At age 16, a student may leave with permission of parents and the school principal.Full Answer >