One example of an employment law in Arizona is that workers who are not on salary earn time-and-a-half pay when working more than 40 hours in a week, explains Lawyers.com. The legal minimum wage is $7.80 and $4.80 for employees who receive tips, as of 2013. However, if a worker who receives tips does not make at least minimum wage with tips included, the employer is responsible for making up the difference.Continue Reading
Certain safety laws are in place for Arizona workers, and one of these safety laws states that employers may not fire or demote employees for reporting safety issues. The worker's compensation laws in Arizona require the employer to be responsible for treating and compensating any injured worker regardless of the cause of the injury, notes Lawyers.com. The length of the compensation depends on the severity of the injury, and the employee's earnings at the time of the accident determine the amount of pay.
When it comes to time off, Arizona employers do not have to offer paid vacation or holiday time. Additionally, paid sick leave is not mandatory. Arizona employees are also not eligible for paid time off for jury duty. However, employers cannot fire an employee for attending jury duty, reports Lawyers.com.Learn more about Law