According to Nolo, a Class A misdemeanor in Wisconsin involves the theft of goods or services that carry a value of no more than $2,500. A misdemeanor is a petty or minor offence against society. A few examples of other misdemeanors include public intoxication, vandalism and trespassing.Continue Reading
The state of Wisconsin also has a very detailed list of circumstances that further define theft. Under Wisconsin state law, theft is defined as mindfully taking someone else's property without that person's knowledge and with no intention of ever returning it. Theft is also an abuse of a position of power or office to take someone's property or service without the person's permission. In addition, the state of Wisconsin also defines theft as purposely defrauding someone of goods or services.
Punishment of a Class A misdemeanor in Wisconsin is a fine of $10,000 or less. For instance, under the Wisconsin shoplifting law (943.50 ��� Retail Theft), if the perpetrator is convicted of shoplifting, he may be ordered by the judge to repay the store owner for cost of goods or services. In addition to a fine, offenders can also expect jail time of up to nine months. Nolo says that sometimes punishment for misdemeanors includes community service and probation.Learn more about Crime