LegalMatch says, "A Class A Misdemeanor is the most serious classification of misdemeanor charges in most states," including Texas. While not as serious as a felony, misdemeanors are punishable by up to a year in jail and carry fines of $500 to $5,000. Individuals convicted of a misdemeanor complete their jail time at a local facility, while felons often spend their jail time in a federal prison.Continue Reading
The circumstances surrounding a crime often determine the type of charges the district attorney files. Fighting in public is a misdemeanor filed as disorderly conduct; however, the Texas Attorney General's office says that displaying or discharging a firearm in public changes the charge to a Class B misdemeanor. Knowingly or recklessly inflicting bodily injury increases the crime to a Class A misdemeanor. Crimes that put someone at "risk of immediate danger of serious bodily injury" involve deadly force and are felonies. This includes shooting a gun toward a person or home.
While other states charge a second offense DUI as a Class A misdemeanor, in Texas, an individual with a blood alcohol count of 0.15 faces a Class A charge on his first offense, according to the Texas District & County Attorneys Association. LegalMatch lists other Class A misdemeanors as crimes such as theft, perjury and violating a restraining order.Learn more about Law
The penalty for a Class 1 misdemeanor depends on the state the crime occurred in and the class of the crime, such as assault, but typically results in a year or less of incarceration in a county jail and a fine, according to CriminalDefense Lawyer. As of 2015, only five states use a numbered level system to classify misdemeanors, including Virginia, Arizona, South Dakota, North Carolina and Colorado, notes CriminalDefense Lawyer.Full Answer >
The probate process in Texas involves making an application, having a hearing, issuing a notice to creditors and inventory and conclusion. Probate processes may be initiated whether a will is available or not, according to Ford Bergner LLP.Full Answer >
The United States Department of Justice states that harboring a fugitive can be considered either a felony or a misdemeanor. A person convicted of the crime is generally subject to imprisonment for up to one year, however, in some circumstances the penalty can be increased to up to five years in prison.Full Answer >
Theft of property worth less than $50 is a Class C misdemeanor in Texas, while personal possession of a quantity of marijuana that does not exceed 2 ounces is a Class B misdemeanor in Texas. Carrying a firearm without a permit to do so is a Class A misdemeanor in Texas, as reported by Nolo.Full Answer >