Q:

What is a Class D license?

A:

Quick Answer

A Class D license is a regular driver's license distributed by the transportation authorities in states that allow the holder to operate certain types of motor vehicles, as explained by the AAA. While all states issue Class D driver's licenses, each state has different requirements.

Continue Reading
What is a Class D license?
Credit: fotog Getty Images

Full Answer

In Massachusetts, individuals may apply for a Class D driver's license, provided they are over the age of 16 and can provide identifying documentation and pass other requirements, according to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles. People under 18 require parental consent to apply for a license. States provide different classes of licenses for the use of different types of vehicles. For example, in Alaska, a Class M1 license is required for operation of a motorcycle, according to AAA.

Learn more about Driving Laws

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How do you get a driving license back?

    A:

    To get a suspended driving license reinstated, most states require drivers to pay a reinstatement fee and provide proof of car insurance, explains DMV.org. Other typical license reinstatement requirements include completing any required course; passing the state's driver license exam if necessary; adding an ignition interlock device; and resolving criminal charges if an active court case led to the license suspension,

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the driver's license laws?

    A:

    Driver's license laws are determined by individual states and can vary widely from state-to-state, according to U.S. Immigration Support. A driver's license is a form of government-issued identification and can be used for purposes other than driving, such as opening bank accounts, cashing checks or showing proof of age for purchasing alcohol or tobacco.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How can you renew your license online?

    A:

    In most states, you must renew your driver's license either in person or by mail, but some states do provide online renewal as of 2015, according to DMV.org. However, the process for online renewal varies among the states that allow it.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the penalties for driving without a license?

    A:

    In most states, the penalties for driving without a license include a misdemeanor charge punishable with community service, fines ranging from $100 to $5,000 or possibly serving jail time, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures. The severity of the charge depends highly on the circumstances surrounding the offense.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore