A Class D felony in Missouri includes third-degree domestic assault, resisting arrest, fraud or passing a bad check, as noted by Criminal Defense Lawyer. A person convicted of a Class D felony may spend up to 7 years in prison.Continue Reading
Class D felonies are the least serious of all felonies in the state of Missouri. Besides a prison sentence, a person convicted of this type of felony may also be fined up to $5,000.
The next step up from a Class D felony in the state of Missouri is a Class C felony. A Class C felony carries with it a maximum of 10 years in prison and includes involuntary manslaughter, statutory rape, possession of a controlled substance and theft.Learn more about Crime
The process for having a felony charge expunged from your record begins with checking with the legal agencies and court involved in the arrest and conviction of the charge, Nolo explains. Certain states have laws on the books that allow the expungement of felony convictions, but the procedure varies by state.Full Answer >
For check fraud, the distinction between a misdemeanor and a felony varies based on several factors. Potential variables include the specific type of check fraud committed, the state in which fraud was committed and the amount of money involved, among others.Full Answer >
Common banking scams include charity fraud, check overpayment fraud, work-at-home job scams, award scams and scams that involve cashing a check for a stranger, according to the U.S. News & World Report. These scams target money in the victim's bank account and can be more damaging than other financial scams, including credit card fraud.Full Answer >
According to Nolo's CriminalDefenseLawyer.com, class A misdemeanors in Missouri include possession of marijuana up to 35 grams, shoplifting less than $500, domestic assault of the third degree and false imprisonment. Class A misdemeanors are considered the most serious category of Classes A through C. The penalty is a fine up to $1,000, up to one year in jail or both.Full Answer >