Q:

What is a Class 6 felony in Virginia?

A:

Quick Answer

A Class 6 felony in Virginia is a crime that meets the criteria for the "felony" category with the least of authorized punishments associated with it. Class 6 felony crimes in the state of Virginia include reckless endangerment and violation of a court order.

Continue Reading
What is a Class 6 felony in Virginia?
Credit: Rex Ziak The Image Bank Getty Images

Full Answer

Penalties for the commission of Class 6 felony crimes in Virginia include imprisonment of no less than one but up to five years. Fines that do not exceed $2,500 can also be imposed on those who commit Class 6 felony crimes in Virginia.

Most felony cases in Virginia begin in the relevant general district court with arraignment. In Virginia, a plea is not required at arraignment.

Learn more about Crime

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is a Class B felony in Indiana?

    A:

    A Class B felony in the state of Indiana was punishable by 6 to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. However, as of July 1, 2014, the state's penal code for felonies consists of Level 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 felonies instead.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is an Illinois Class 4 felony?

    A:

    A Class 4 felony in Illinois is any felony that can be punished by at least one year in state prison but no more than three. It is the lowest level of felony in the state.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a Class X felony?

    A:

    A Class X felony is the most serious offense in Illinois and includes aggravated arson, armed robbery, home invasion and aggravated kidnapping. A person found guilty of a Class X felony cannot be sentenced to probation and jail time is mandatory.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the sentence for receiving stolen property in the state of Ohio?

    A:

    The sentence for receiving stolen goods in the state of Ohio varies depending on if the crime is a misdemeanor or a felony. For example, a felony conviction for receiving stolen property in the third degree can carry a prison term of one to five years and a $10,000 fine.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore