An individual is charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor in North Carolina if caught carrying a concealed weapon, enacting in disorderly conduct, assaulting another person and resisting a police officer, as of 2014. Only simple assaults are classified as Class 2 misdemeanors, according to Robert H. Hale, Jr. & Associates.Continue Reading
Misdemeanors in North Carolina are divided into four categories, which consist of A1 as the most serious crime, followed by Class 1, 2 and 3 categories of crimes. How a person is sentenced when found guilty depends on the defendant's criminal record, the opportunity for a plea bargain with the district attorney's office and the facts of the case, according to Robert H. Hale, Jr. & Associates. In North Carolina, as of 2014, a Class 2 misdemeanor charge may result in a fine up to $1,000 or up to a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail. Many defendants are often eligible for probation, community service or substance-abuse counseling programs that ultimately result in the dismissal of the charges or case. Individuals charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor often acquire legal representation with a criminal defense attorney.
All misdemeanor cases in North Carolina are tried before the district court unless a plea bargain is established. Once the judge finds a person guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor, sentencing is established; however, the defendant has the right to appeal the conviction in a higher court, according to Robert H. Hale, Jr. & Associates.Learn more about Crime
The Free Dictionary defines strong arm robbery as taking or stealing something from a person using force or threats but without using a weapon. Use of any weapon when committing a robbery, even if only used to threaten, is considered armed robbery.Full Answer >
According to Womenslaw.org, third-degree battery occurs when a person causes intentional physical injury to a family or household member, causes physical injuries through recklessness or neglect, possibly by using a lethal weapon, or purposefully causes mental impairment or physical injury through administering drugs or other such substance without the consent of the household or family member. Battery is defined as the intentional striking or injuring of a victim, causing the other person harm without the consent.Full Answer >
According to the Peveto Law office, a Class B misdemeanor conviction in Texas stays on a person's record forever. If a misdemeanor charge is eligible for deferred adjudication, a charge reduction or pretrial diversion, it is possible to have it cleared from the record through expungement or non-disclosure.Full Answer >
According to the state of North Carolina, Class F felonies include: kidnapping children, involuntary manslaughter, human trafficking of adults, rebellion against the state, second degree sexual exploitation of a child, indecent liberties with a child, the prostituting of a minor, and assault on an executive, legislative or court officer. Class F felonies carry a penalty of 10 to 49 months in jail, according to Chowan County.Full Answer >