Q:

What is a civil offense?

A:

Quick Answer

A civil offense is a violation of an administrative matter. Civil offenses range from a corporations violation of a consumer statute to an individual being charged with contempt of a court-ordered agreement.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

A common civil offense is contempt of court. These contempt charges often arise from family court systems where a parent is ordered to pay child support. If the parent ordered to pay child support does not do so, the other parent can petition the court for contempt sanctions.

Jail time can be a consequence for a civil offense, but the violation occurs from a civil or administrative dispute and not from a criminal violation.

A criminal offense is a violation of a state or federal law. A criminal offense can result in a fine, arrest or jail time, just like a civil offense, but the punishments are oftentimes more severe in criminal violations.

Many people are confused by what is considered a civil or criminal offense. If a person is pulled over and given a ticket for speeding, it may be a civil matter, but by signing the ticket and agreeing to appear in court or to take care of the fine, criminal charges can be filed if the person does not, or refuses to do so.

Learn more about Crime
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is a class C misdemeanor?

    A:

    A class C misdemeanor can vary in definition depending on a state's particular laws, but in general this type of offense is used to categorize petty crimes such as shoplifting. Additionally, a class C misdemeanor usually results in a fine or jail time of less than 1 year.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is a DUI a felony?

    A:

    A DUI is usually defined as a misdemeanor, although the circumstances surrounding the DUI event can raise the level of the offense to a felony. Whether the circumstances surrounding the DUI justify raising it to the level of a felony varies by jurisdiction.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the average sentence for a first offense robbery?

    A:

    As of 2015, federal sentencing guidelines define a robbery of less than $10,000 by someone without any prior offenses as a level 20 offense, which has a minimum sentence of 33 months, according to the United States Sentencing Commission. The offense level increases as the amount stolen increases.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is a Class E crime in Maine?

    A:

    According the State of Maine Judicial Branch, a Class E crime is the least serious type of offense in the Maine Criminal Code. Class E crimes are usually prosecuted in district court.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore