Q:

What are some of the child support laws in New Jersey?

A:

Quick Answer

As of 2015, the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines pertain to parties who have a combined net income greater than $170 a week and less than $3,600 a week, explains Wilentz, Goldman and Spitzer, attorneys-at-law. For incomes below $170 per week, the court awards based on the child's needs and the payer's expenses.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

When calculating support for those with an income under $170 per week, the amount that may be awarded should be between $5 and the amount that would be awarded if the income was $170 per week, says Wilentz, Goldman and Spitzer. If the combined income is greater than $3,600 per week, the court uses $3,600 as the minimum support award.

Net income is gross income minus taxes, union dues, retirement, other child support orders and obligations to other dependents. The share of expenses for food, housing, clothing, entertainment, transportation and unreimbursed health care up to $250 per child per year is included in the child support guidelines. The court may also add other expenses to this, such as health insurance for the child, child care expenses and other expenses as deemed necessary by the court, says Wilentz, Goldman and Spitzer. Those expenses are included prior to the final calculation of the support award.

Learn more about Child Support & Custody
Sources:

Related Questions

Explore