Other than in specific circumstances, Texas labor law prohibits employing children under the age of 14 or employing children in hazardous occupations, according to the Texas Workforce Commission. Texas law prohibits children under the age of 16 from working more than eight hours per day or 48 hours per week.Continue Reading
Children in Texas may deliver newspapers once they have reached 11 years of age, and participate in the sale of newspapers once they reach age 16, advises the Texas Workforce Commission. Children under the age of 14 can participate in school-sponsored work programs and can be employed through programs assigned by a county judge for rehabilitation purposes. Children under the age of 14 in Texas can also work in agricultural jobs during nonschool hours, as long as their employment does not require the use of hazardous materials or equipment.
Texas child labor laws also allow employment of minors under the age of 14 as actors or performers, with parental consent and an approved application, states the Texas Workforce Commission. Children in Texas may also be employed as drivers, if they have valid licenses and are not required to operate a commercial vehicle or a vehicle exceeding 15,000 pounds. Children cannot be employed in sexually oriented businesses in Texas, or solicit on behalf of organizations other than those owned by their parents or by a charitable organization. When there is a discrepancy between Texas state and federal labor laws, employers must follow the stricter of the two.Learn more about Law