Child labor laws in Ohio require a work permit for those between the ages of 14 and 18, and the law limits the time of day as well as the total number of hours minors may work, according to the Ohio Department of Commerce. Rules vary according to age.Continue Reading
A completed work permit form is a required to obtain a minor work permit. It contains employer and job information, employer pledge and parental consent. Those under 16 years old are prohibited from working before 7:00 a.m. or after 7:00 p.m. when school is in session. Minors under 16 may not work more than three hours in a school day or more than 18 hours in a school week. Minors 16 and 17 years old may not work before 7:00 a.m. when school is in session or after 11:00 p.m. before a school day, states the Ohio Department of Commerce.
Employers must prepare a wage agreement indicating the compensation that was agreed upon for every minor age 14 to 18. Employers must also keep a list of all the minors employed at each establishment and a detailed record of the time worked by minors, showing stopping and starting times and rest periods. Minors must receive a 30-minute break when working more than five consecutive hours, notes the Ohio Department of Commerce.Learn more about Law