Q:

What are the child abandonment laws in Tennessee?

A:

Quick Answer

Tennessee law defines abandonment as a parent's deliberate failure to visit or provide financial support for his child for a period of four successive months. Even if such grounds are proven, the court must still determine whether termination of parental rights is in the best interest of the child, notes the Law Office of Paula Ogle Blair.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Terminating parental rights due to abandonment is a significant decision. Therefore, a high standard of evidence is required before such a relationship can be ended permanently. To establish such "clear and compelling evidence," Tennessee attorney Laura B. Baker notes that those making such a claim must prove the parent made no attempt to visit or support the child even though the parent was able to do so and had no defensible reason for not doing so, according to the Law Offices of John Day.

According to Tennessee state law, other grounds for abandonment include the parent being incarcerated for up to four months prior to the action declaring the child to be abandoned or the parent being involved in activities before incarceration that pose a threat to the child's welfare. Newborns under 72 hours of age left at a hospital or similar facility with no contact from the mother for a period of 90 days are also considered abandoned, explains the Law Office of Paula Ogle Blair.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are some family laws in California?

    A:

    Some family laws in California include adoption laws that regulate the adoption of children into a family and child support laws that regulate how much money a noncustodial parent must pay for the needs of a child to a custodial parent, as FindLaw explains. California also has spousal support laws.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Which states have buyer's remorse laws?

    A:

    Federal law covers most cases of buyer's remorse in all 50 states, including solicited sales, timeshares and homeowner loans, while some states have laws to protect rueful consumers with certain contracts, such as gym memberships, and can extend the federal cooling-off period, according to the AARP. Buyer's remorse laws do not apply to automobile purchases.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the personal items abandonment law?

    A:

    The law of abandonment of personal property applies when an owner intentionally forfeits ownership of items other than real property, explains LegalMatch. In general, common law follows the "finders, keepers" rule - a person who takes possession of abandoned property owns it - though some states have modified the rule.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are some facts about spousal rights in a divorce?

    A:

    A fact about spousal rights in a divorce includes that each person's rights are based upon the "valid reason for divorce prescribed by law" for the divorce such as willful desertion, abandonment, cruelty, bodily harm, conviction of a felony, adultery, sodomy or the modern "separation divorce," reports the Virginia State Bar. A "separation divorce" is a modern phenomena and means that no one is considered "at fault" for the divorce, but both parties are no longer interested in staying married, notes the Virginia State Bar.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore