The process of checking child support payments online varies by state. You can check the status of child support payments online by logging into your account using your case number, Social Security number or member ID at the Tennessee Department of Human Services website. Your participant ID or Social Security number and a pin are necessary to log in at the California Child Support Self Service website.
As of 2015, a map provided by the Office of Child Support Enforcement provides the website and contact information for all 50 states, Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.
Title IV-D agencies for each state offer child support enforcement by the United States Department of Justice. This allows local and state governments to process child support instead of the federal government. Federal laws prohibit failure to pay child support following a court order. Federal prosecution of a misdemeanor may occur following a court order if an out-of-state parent does not pay child support over the course of one year or exceeding the amount of $5,000. This could lead to fines and a maximum of six months in prison. The court may seek a criminal felony if a parent does not pay child support over two years or exceeding $10,000. This could result in fines and up to two years in prison.