Has there been a change in the driving age in California?


Quick Answer

According to the California Department of Motor Vehicles, the minimum age at which a minor can obtain a driver's license is 16 years old, as of 2015. The minor must have previously held a learner's permit issued by either the state of California or another state.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

After obtaining a permit, a minor seeking a driver's license in California requires the signatures of both parents if they have joint custody, or the signature of their custodial parent or guardian. The minor must have completed driver's education and driver training, in addition to 50 hours of supervised driving practice, and must pass the road test. Until the age of 18, the driver is issued a provisional license.

Learn more about Driving Laws

Related Questions