Drivers who are required to make a Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) surcharge payment online can do so through the Municipal Services Bureau(MSB) website with a valid credit card; the state of Texas has authorized the MSB, a private company, to collect payments for the infractions as determined by police. The DPS Drivers Responsibility Surcharge is a fine levied on people who commit traffic offenses on top of the charges associated with the infraction.Continue Reading
A point system is used to determine how much of a fine traffic offenders will receive; if six points are acquired in a 3-year period, a surcharge is assessed. To pay online, the offender's drivers license, the reference number from the official notification received in the mail and an acceptable form of payment is required. In addition to credit or debit cards, people can also pay using a savings or checking account. Once payment is made, it takes 3 days to appear on the official record.
The program was created in 2003 and has generated $2.3 billion for the State of Texas since its inception. One of the offenses included in the point system is driving without insurance, which has been criticized by many as unfair to people living below the poverty line.Learn more about Driving Laws