Ohio Legal Services explains that minors are automatically emancipated at age 18 or upon graduating from high school if they turn 18 during their senior year. To be emancipated before reaching age 18, a minor must either join a branch of the armed services or become married. Ohio state law does not allow a minor or the minor's parents to petition the court for emancipation.Continue Reading
The Cuyahoga County Juvenile Court reports that a minor is no longer emancipated if the minor's marriage is dissolved or the minor is removed from military service while still under the age of 18. The custody of the minor reverts back to the previous parent or guardian who had custody.
The Ohio Bar Association notes that parents can petition the court to no longer be responsible for providing financial support for a minor. This does not automatically emancipate a minor, and the parents may still be legally responsible for the minor's actions. During the court hearing for parental removal of financial obligations, the court may rule that the minor is emancipated. A minor who becomes pregnant but does not marry is not emancipated because of the child. However, as a parent, the minor has a financial obligation to the child.Learn more about Legal Ages
Although there's no legal age that has to be reached before a person can buy a pet, it's important to be old enough to understand the commitment that comes with pet ownership, and children should always check with their parents to be sure that they are permitted to bring a pet home before purchase. Pets are a big responsibility, and one that can't be taken lightly, since buying a pet puts the owner responsible for that pet for life.Full Answer >
According to Michigan's Age of Majority Act of 1971, 18 years of age is when a person is considered an adult and no longer under the supervision or control of his parents. The Michigan Status of Minors and Child Support Act 293 of 1968 defines minors as anyone under 18.Full Answer >
The age a person must be to legally operate a jet ski varies. Every state in America establishes its own set of rules and regulations regarding this topic.Full Answer >
A person may legally move out of his legal guardian's house when he reaches the age of majority, which is 18 years old in Missouri. In certain cases, a minor may become legally emancipated from his legal guardian beginning at age 16.Full Answer >