A list of child car seat laws by state is available at GHSA.org, according to the Governors Highway Safety Association. Child safety seats for infants and children are mandatory in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Washington, D.C. and every state except Florida and South Dakota have booster seat laws.
The height, weight and age of a child determine the type of car safety seat a child needs. The three types of passenger safety restraints for children are rear-facing child safety seats for infants, forward-facing safety seats for toddlers and booster seats for older children, explains the Governors Highway Safety Association. Generally, when a child reaches a certain height, weight or age, states allow the child to use a regular vehicle seat belt. Fines for a first violation of a child safety seat law range from $10 in Missouri to $500 in Nevada.