As of 2014, wages can be garnished in the state of Texas, but only under certain circumstances, according to Nolo. Wage garnishment is limited to child support, alimony, taxes and student loans.Continue Reading
Nolo states that there are limits on wage garnishment, even in the allowed circumstances. As of 2014, up to 50 percent of disposable income can be garnished for unpaid child support and 15 percent for defaulted student loans. The amount garnished for unpaid taxes depends on a several factors, including income and number of dependants.
While most creditors cannot garnish wages in Texas, they can still put liens and levies against a debtor's property. Creditors can also seize certain assets, such as brokerage accounts.Learn more about Law
When the state of Texas legal system deems a parolee to be in violation of their probation a motion to revoke probation is filed, and if granted, an arrest warrant may be issued. Before probation can be revoked, a probation revocation hearing is held in front of a judge, according to Guest and Gray criminal defense lawyers.Full Answer >
In the state of Texas, creditors do not have to give notice before repossessing a car due to missed payments or not having adequate car insurance, as of 2015, according to AVVO. However, some Texas laws require the car owner to be notified before the car goes up for sale, giving him the option to buy it back on his own.Full Answer >
In the state of Texas, the legal principle of adverse possession covers the idea of squatter's rights, according to Lone Star Land Law. This refers to a situation in which one legally claims property that originally belonged to someone else.Full Answer >
According to Sullo and Sullo Attorneys at Law, first-degree felonies are serious crimes in the state of Texas that are second only to capital felonies in terms of severity. Those convicted of first-degree felonies are likely to receive harsh punishments, including expensive fines, lengthy probation periods and considerable amounts of prison time.Full Answer >