Q:

Can you buy alcohol on Sundays in Texas?

A:

Quick Answer

As stated by the Texas Alcohol Beverage Commission, individuals cannot legally buy liquor in Texas on Sundays. This is part of the state's "blue laws," which are a set of laws that prohibit the sale of items due to Sunday being for rest and church. The prohibition of liquor sales also extends to Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day.

Continue Reading
Can you buy alcohol on Sundays in Texas?
Credit: Glow Images, Inc Glow Getty Images

Full Answer

While you cannot buy liquor at stores in Texas on Sunday, you can order alcoholic drinks at restaurants and bars after noon. You are also able to buy wine and beer at stores that day (also after noon), just not liquor. The TABC also notes that alcoholic beverages are allowed at major sports venues and festivals or concerts starting at 10 a.m. on Sundays.

Learn more about Is This Illegal?

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Where is there a notary open on Sundays?

    A:

    Mailbox stores such as Postal Annex and the UPS Store may offer notary services on Sundays. Notary hours of operation vary, so contacting local notaries for operating days and hours is the most reliable way to find a notary open on Sundays.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the remaining blue laws in Texas?

    A:

    Although legal reforms have abolished many of Texas's "blue laws" (religion-motivated laws governing sales on the Sabbath), it is still illegal to sell liquor on a Sunday in Texas (along with 11 other states, including Alabama, Minnesota and Oklahoma) as well as to open a car dealership on more than one day over a weekend. Until 1985, it was also illegal to sell furniture, clothing, hardware and appliances, among many other items, on more than one day over a weekend.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you plan for Medicaid eligibility in Texas?

    A:

    As of 2015, individuals with assets exceeding $2,000 should reduce their holdings before applying for Medicaid in Texas, advises the Law Office of Antoinette Bone. Applicants are also required to be residents of the state and have a gross monthly income not exceeding $2,094.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is it legal to make moonshine in North Carolina?

    A:

    Distilling alcohol of any kind, including moonshine, for personal consumption is strictly illegal in North Carolina. However, North Carolina law does allow for an individual to possess and utilize a still for the purpose of creating fuel alcohol, according to IndyWek.com.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore