A child must either reach the age of majority, which is over 17, or have a parents' permission to move out of the house according to Cornell University. Eighteen is the age of a legal adult in the United States.Continue Reading
The age of majority is different around the world. In the U.S. the general age of majority is 18; however, Puerto Rico and Mississippi have raised the age to 21, while Nebraska and Alabama have set it at 19.
If a child is not of this age and parents do not consent, one does have alternatives. The hardest option is to file for emancipation in a state court. For this, the child must prove financial independence, housing options and maturity. Getting married would achieve emancipation, but a youth must have his/her parents' permission to do this before the age of majority. Enlisting in the military is another option.Learn more about Legal Ages
It's considered child abandonment if a parent kicks a child out of his house before the age of 18. If the minor is emancipated, the parent can kick him out.Full Answer >
According to AZ Law Help, a 17-year-old cannot move out of his parents' home without permission in Arizona. A 17-year-old who leaves his parents' home without permission can be found to be an "incorrigible" child, facing fines, probation or community service.Full Answer >
As of 2014, students in California who are 16 and 17 years old can leave school if they have graduated high school, passed the California High School Proficiency Exam, or CHSPE, or have permission from their parents. Students who do not have at least one of these requirements are required to stay in school until they turn 18 years of age.Full Answer >
Oklahoma state law forbids body piercing, including belly button piercings, for people under 18 years of age unless they have permission from a parent or legal guardian. Individual piercing studios may follow even more stringent piercing guidelines or may require photo identification as evidence of age.Full Answer >