Q:

What is it called when a child divorces his parents?

A:

Quick Answer

When a child divorces his parents, it is called the emancipation of a minor. Emancipation laws in all 50 states allow a child, under specific circumstances, to become legally separated from his parents.

Continue Reading
What is it called when a child divorces his parents?
Credit: Mieke Dalle Stone Getty Images

Full Answer

In general, a court grants emancipation to a child under 18 when there is enough proof that severing the ties is beneficial for the child. The minor's age, physical condition and mental state are considered. The parents' abilities to care for the child, as well as their mental and physical status, are also assessed. The fact that parents and child live separately is not reason enough for legal separation. Emancipation often is granted when parents desert, abandon or fail to support their children. Also, some minors who marry or enlist in the military receive emancipation.

Learn more about Law
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Am I responsible for my parent's debt?

    A:

    A child is typically not responsible for the debts of her parents, according to MSN. However, paying creditors out of the estate funds after the parents die can wipe out any inheritance that the surviving children would otherwise receive.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the Texas child emancipation laws?

    A:

    In Texas, emancipation laws allow minors to become emancipated if they are entering into marriage, if they are joining the military, or if a minor requests emancipation and a court grants the request. The legal age of majority in Texas is 18.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the emancipation laws in Texas?

    A:

    In order to petition for an emancipation in the state of Texas, it is necessary to be a Texas resident, be able to provide personal support and be 17 years old, as stated by FindLaw. As with every other state, Texas recognizes 18 years of age as the legal age for a resident to be considered an adult.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do I legally disown my parents?

    A:

    The process of disowning a parent is known as emancipation. This process is governed by state laws, according to Cornell University Law School. The process differs in each state, but court involvement is usually necessary. Approximately half of the states in the country have specific emancipation statutes.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore