Q:

What is California's Good Neighbor Fence Policy?

A:

Quick Answer

California's Good Neighbor Fence Law places equal responsibility for the maintenance, costs and replacement of fences that property owners have all or partially in common.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

If the two property owners agree not to be equally responsible, a written letter of agreement can be drafted that alleviates one of the property owners from some or all responsibility for the fence. Also, if a fence did not previously exist, one property owner cannot be forced to contribute to the installation of a fence simply because the other property owner desires a fence between the two properties. If a property owner with a shared property border decides to erect a fence where one already exists on the shared border, the property owner must pay the neighbor for half of the fence and be equally responsible for it.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is a California stress leave?

    A:

    While California does not have a stress-leave law, under the California labor law, an employee can be compensated under workers' compensation when a psychiatric or stress-related injury is diagnosed by a medical professional. The federal Family and Medical Leave Act is another option for employees to take unpaid job-protected leave.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are California curfew laws?

    A:

    California curfew laws are regulations that forbid minors or those under the age of 18, from being outdoors in public places at certain specified times of the day. These laws vary by jurisdiction. For example, the cities of San Diego and Los Angeles require minors to be home between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. Minors can be out during these hours if accompanied by a parent or guardian.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you calculate California spousal support?

    A:

    Use a California spousal support calculator, such as the one provided by Cristin Lowe Law, to estimate a probable amount. In California, the court calculates the temporary amount of spousal support by consulting county guidelines at the beginning of the case, explains the Judicial Council of California. When the court finalizes the decision, it considers many other factors before deciding on an amount of spousal support, as well as the duration of the support.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How much is the minimum wage in California?

    A:

    Effective July 1, 2014, the minimum wage in California became $9 per hour, according to the California Department of Industrial Relations. The minimum wage increases to $10 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2016.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore