Q:

What is California Probate Code 13100?

A:

Quick Answer

California Probate Code Section 13100 is part of the California state law regarding the acquiring of property under a certain value by a successor from the estate of a decedent. It is applicable after a period of 40 days, according to the Legislative Counsel of California.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Section 13100 states that, excluding property mentioned in Section 13050, if 40 days have passed since the decedent's death and the value of the decedent's real and personal property is under $150,000, the successor of the deceased may collect some types of property without administrative paperwork or waiting for the probate of the will, notes the Legislative Counsel of California. This includes monetary property owed to the deceased and tangible property of the deceased.

Learn more about Law
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are duties of the executor of the estate?

    A:

    The executor of a will collects the assets of an estate, pays outstanding debts and taxes, and ensures that those named in the will receive the property that the decedent specified they should have, according to DoYourOwnWill.com. The executor may also oversee investments of the estate.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is Section 1245 property?

    A:

    Section 1245 is a part of the IRS code that relates to gain from dispositions of depreciable property. The section states that favorable capital gains tax treatment may be available for a depreciable property sold at a price that exceeded the salvage value, according to Investopedia.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What services are available at the California Riverside Superior Court?

    A:

    The Superior Court of California in Riverside County presides over court cases related to civil and criminal cases, enhanced collections, juvenile and family law cases, and probate activity, as noted on the official government website. The court also presides over traffic and small-claims cases.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What time is curfew in California?

    A:

    California has no state law regarding curfew, according to an article in The New York Times. However, different municipalities have city-wide curfew laws, such as the law outlined by the Los Angeles Police Department.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore