Q:

What is the buyer's remorse law in California?

A:

Quick Answer

In California, buyer's remorse law refers to the statutory rights of consumers to cancel contracts in certain instances, as detailed by the California Department of Consumer Affairs and USLegal.com. The contracts specified under this law may be cancelled without a specific cancellation contract and for any reason cited by the consumer.

Continue Reading
What is the buyer's remorse law in California?
Credit: Hauke Dressler / LOOK-foto LOOK Getty Images

Full Answer

Some goods and services that are covered by the buyer's remorse laws in California include contracts for funerals, property insurance and dance studio memberships, all of which have an indefinite cancellation period, according to the California Department of Consumer Affairs. Contracts with a limited statutory cancellation period include dating services, used car purchases, unfilled Internet sales and dental services.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How much is the minimum wage in California?

    A:

    Effective July 1, 2014, the minimum wage in California became $9 per hour, according to the California Department of Industrial Relations. The minimum wage increases to $10 per hour effective Jan. 1, 2016.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you get a California business license?

    A:

    To obtain a California business license, go to the city office or city hall in the city where the business is located, or visit the California Department of Consumer Affairs website and fill out a business license application. Some professions require more than one license, and some Californian cities have multiple license requirements.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the burial regulations in California?

    A:

    California does not require embalming or the use of outer burial containers, reports the Cemetery and Funeral Bureau of the California Department of Consumer Affairs. Natural burial is permitted by the state, but the use of outer containers or natural burial is legally determined by each cemetery. Burial must occur in an established cemetery, and regulations for home burial are under the discretion of local municipalities, notes the Funeral Consumers Alliance of Southern California.

    Full Answer >
  • Q:

    What is the allowed level for water testing in California?

    A:

    California has different testing regulations for bottled water and tap water, states the California Department of Public Health. As of 2015, California applies all federal bottled water quality standards except for trihalomethanes, with an upper limit of 10 parts per billion. The federal upper limit is 80 parts per billion.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore