Q:

How do you become a resident of another state?

A:

Quick Answer

Being considered a resident of another state depends on the reason for establishing residency, such as for voting, tax or tuition purposes, and the laws of the particular state. For tax purposes, a person is generally considered a resident of a state if his main home is in the state for an entire year, but the department of revenue for each state determines residency requirements, according to TurboTax.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

In general, for voting purposes, becoming a resident of a state is as simple as moving there with the intention of staying for the length of time specified by the state, according to the Federal Voting Assistance Program. Most states require a voter to live in the state for 30 days or less, and some have no length of residency requirements at all, notes Infoplease from Pearson Education.

State boards may determine the requirements for state residency for in-state tuition purposes, according to FinAid, with the individual colleges determining whether a student qualifies. U.S. News & World Report recommends registering a car in the new state, paying state taxes, obtaining a library card and registering to vote as ways to prove state residency, which can cut back considerably on the price of tuition at a state college or university.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How long does it take to become a Texas resident?

    A:

    Texas residency for tuition purposes is 12 consecutive months prior to enrollment, and Texas residency for driver license purposes is 30 days. The driver license requirement can be waived when an individual surrenders a valid, unexpired driver license from another state.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you get a divorce in Texas?

    A:

    The filing spouse must first meet the Texas residency requirements and have a legally acceptable reason to file for divorce before filing divorce papers, according to WomensLaw.org. Copies of the filing are then sent to the spouse, who can dispute the terms or leave it uncontested.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are some Pennsylvania State divorce laws?

    A:

    Pennsylvania divorce laws include a six-month residency requirement for at least one of the spouses, both no-fault and fault-based grounds for the action, and provisions for equitable distribution of property, according to HG.org. Other laws allow the award of alimony and make provisions for child support and custody.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you become a resident of Colorado?

    A:

    Establishing residency in Colorado requires obtaining a dwelling space and acquiring proof that the move is not temporary through civic participation and financial obligations to the state. Those seeking residency also need state identification and a state tax payment. The process takes at least one year.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore