As of October 2014, a Florida notary applicant must take three hours of educational training, contact a bonding agency, complete the application and submit the completed application to the bonding agency. The bonding agency gives notaries their commission certificates and seals. The state approves applications, and the governor of Florida makes final decisions to approve or deny applications, according to Governor Rick Scott's official website.Continue Reading
Florida's online educational program is free of charge and counts as three hours of training. The applicant then proves to the state he completed the course. Potential notaries can choose to take classes in person at various sites. The bonding agency provides the application, pays state fees, writes the notary bond and supplies notary seals. As of October 2014, the state fee is $39. Notary bonds are competitively priced, but one $7,500 bond supplied by the American Association of Notaries costs $40, according to its website. The bond protects the public from misconduct or negligence on the part of the notary.
To start the process, fill out the application received from the bonding agency and return it. The bonding agency rejects the application if any information is missing. The state approves or denies applications sent to the government from bonding agencies. Notaries receive a four-year commission upon acceptance. Applicants must be 18 or older and live in Florida to become a notary public, notes the State of Florida Department of State website.Learn more about Law