How do I become a New York State resident?


Quick Answer

For the purposes of New York vehicle and traffic laws and driver licensing, any person who maintains a residence in the state for 90 days is considered a resident. Educational institutions have different requirements for tuition purposes.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Upon moving to New York, every new resident must obtain a New York identification card or driver's license within 30 days. Section 250(5) of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law states that anyone establishing a residence in New York is considered a resident, and presumptive evidence for establishing a residence includes renting an apartment, home, room or any other residence for 90 days or longer. For other legal purposes in the court system, a judge may consider evidence such as paying taxes or attending school elsewhere, despite a person establishing a residence in New York.

Universities and colleges, on the other hand, typically require the establishment of residency in the state for a year for the purpose of in-state tuition. Although requirements may vary from institution to institution, major universities such as the University of Albany and SUNY require 12-month residencies for in-state tuition. If the student is not emancipated, meaning he or she is financially dependent upon his or her parents, the residency must be established by the parents.

Learn more about Immigration

Related Questions