Q:

How do you apply for a Hawaii marriage license?

A:

Quick Answer

To apply for a Hawaiian marriage license, first select and hire a licensed performer such as a minister or judge to marry you, and then complete the marriage license application provided by the Hawaii Department of Health. You and your intended partner must take the application to a marriage license agent and submit it along with the license fee to receive a marriage license.

Continue Reading
How do you apply for a Hawaii marriage license?
Credit: Julie Thurston Photography Moment Mobile Getty Images

Full Answer

To be eligible for a marriage license in Hawaii, you and your intended spouse must both be at least 18 years old. If either of you are between the ages 16 and 17, you must have the written approval of both parents, a legal guardian or a family court, but if either of you are 15, you must have approval from both parents or legal guardian and the written consent of a family court judge. There are no state residency or U.S. citizenship requirements to marry in Hawaii, and there are no blood work requirements. According to Hawaii.gov, same-sex couples are eligible to get married in Hawaii as of December 2, 2013.

The Hawaii marriage license application is available online from the state's Department of Health. You must include the name of the licensed performer of your ceremony, the location of the ceremony and background information for both you and your intended spouse. You can pay the marriage license fee online or in person to the marriage license agent. If you fill the application out online, a list of marriage license agents on the island you plan to marry is provided for you. Take the application or receipt of an online application to the agent, who reviews it and provides you with a marriage license immediately upon approval, and you must get married within 30 days from when the license is issued. After the ceremony, the performer must confirm the ceremony, which can be done online. A marriage certificate is mailed to you about three weeks after the ceremony is officially confirmed to the Department of Health.

Learn more about Law

Related Questions

Explore