There is no specific formula or guideline for calculating alimony in the state of New Jersey, states DivorceNet. A judge considers a wide variety of factors to determine the amount of alimony awarded.Continue Reading
The contributing factors include the requesting spouse's actual needs, the other spouse's ability to pay, the duration of the marriage, the age and health of both spouses and each spouse's income, earning capacity, education level and employability, according to DivorceNet. Also under consideration are the parental responsibilities, the time necessary for the dependent spouse to become self-supporting and each spouse's financial contributions to the marriage.
Based on these factors, the judge can award four different types of alimony or a combination of these types, according to DivorceNet. Temporary alimony is award to low-earning or unemployed spouses to help cover living expenses during the divorce process. Rehabilitative alimony is intended to help the requesting spouse get the training or education necessary to become self supporting, and reimbursement alimony compensates a spouse who supported the other spouse through an advanced education.
The last type of alimony is called open durational alimony, which replaced permanent alimony when Governor Chris Christie signed a bill in September 2014, according to NJ.com. This bill, among other things, ended indefinite support and established limits on the duration of payments of any marriage lasting less than 20 years. It also stops payments from the supporting spouse after retiring and during economic hardship.Learn more about Law
As of 2015, Michigan law makes it clear that no fixed mathematical formula may be used to calculate spousal support payments, according to DivorceNet from Nolo. Each case must be considered individually based on various factors weighed by the court.Full Answer >
As of 2014, Colorado courts calculate alimony payments according to a mathematical formula based on each spouse's income, says Colleen O'Connor in The Denver Post. Marital property and each spouse's financial needs and resources are also factors in determining alimony in Colorado.Full Answer >
Key points of New York's divorce laws include that an individual or his spouse must have been living in the state continuously for at least two years prior to applying for a divorce, explains DivorceNet. Alternatively, both parties must be New York residents at the time of the divorce, and the grounds for divorce must relate to issues that have arisen in the state.Full Answer >
Applicants to become a real estate agent in the state of New Jersey must complete a license application. They must also have completed the 75-hour pre-licensing course.Full Answer >