What Is the Age of Consent in South Carolina?

What Is the Age of Consent in South Carolina?

In South Carolina, the legal age of consent for sexual activity is 16 years old. However, there is a provision in the state law that allows an individual who is 14 years old to consent to having sex with a partner if that partner is 18 years old or younger.

An individual who is under the age of consent cannot legally agree to have sex with another person. If an adult has sex with an individual under the age of consent, he could face statutory rape charges. This is true even if both parties agreed to engage in sexual activity.