Q:

What age can a child sit safely in the front seat?

A:

Quick Answer

According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, children under 12 years of age should not ride in the front seat. As the CDC explains, air bags can hurt and kill young children.

Continue Reading
What age can a child sit safely in the front seat?
Credit: sudo takeshi Taxi Getty Images

Full Answer

According to the CDC, children under 2 years old should ride in the back seat in rear-facing car seats. Children from 2 to 5 years old can ride in front facing car seats but should remain in the back seat. Children over age 5 should use a booster seat in the back seat to ensure that the lap and shoulder belts fit properly. CDC statistics assert that car seats reduce car crash fatality rates by 71 percent for infants and 54 percent for toddlers.

Learn more about Driving Laws
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What law governs sitting in the front seat?

    A:

    In the United States, the laws concerning riding in the front seat of cars are collectively referred to as child passenger safety laws. The federal government recommends all states to have laws restricting the ability of minors to ride in the front seat, but states have the authority to establish their own rules. In many locations, children are ineligible to ride in the front seat of a car until they reach a certain age, height or weight.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is a seat belt ticket a moving violation?

    A:

    A seat belt ticket is not a moving violation in most states; however, child safety restraint laws are closely related to seat belt laws, reports DrivingLaws.org. New York is an example of a state in which a seat belt ticket can be both a moving and a non-moving violation.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What child safety seat laws are applicable in all 50 states?

    A:

    All 50 states and the District of Columbia require that children up to age 4 use child safety restraints, according to the Governors Highway Safety Association. Many states have supplemental requirements for booster seats. Other states require that children under the age of 1 ride in rear-facing car seats.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    At what age can you switch a child from a car seat to booster seat?

    A:

    A child can switch from a car seat to a booster seat at age 4 if he weighs at least 40 pounds, according to the Texas Department of Public Safety. The department recommends the use of a booster seat with shoulder belt and adult lap belt.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore