A 302 commitment in Pennsylvania is an involuntary commitment into a mental health institute for emergency psychiatric evaluation. The person who signs or calls for the 302 must have direct first hand knowledge of the person and the danger they pose to themselves or others.Continue Reading
In order for a person to be considered a danger to themselves or others, there are things that must occur within the 30 days prior to the submission of the 302. Those items can include the inability to feed themselves or care for themselves without the supervision of another person, attempted suicide or suicidal threats and self mutilation.
Under a 302 commitment, the hospital can hold the admitted person for a maximum of 120 hours. To be held longer, a 303 petition must be filed by the same person who filed the 302, and it must be approved by a mental health hearing officer. A 303 commitment lasts for a maximum of 20 days.Learn more about Law
Those who wish to find out a prisoner's release date in Pennsylvania may sign up for P.A. Savin, which is the Pennsylvania Statewide Automated Victim Information and Notification system. The Pennsylvania Department of Corrections provides information on how to sign up for free on its website. The system is completely confidential and provides current inmate status for offenders in county or state jails, and for offenders under state parole supervision.Full Answer >
In Pennsylvania, an Act 80 day refers to a school day that is shortened because of activities that are necessary for an educational program and approved by the Department of Education. These days include parent-teacher meetings, strategic planning and in-service programs.Full Answer >
Changing a minor's legal name in Pennsylvania requires completion of the form attached to the back of the child's birth certificate. The process of legally changing a child name requires that both parents consent to the change, as both are required to sign the form.Full Answer >
Pennsylvania has strict laws regarding tattoos for minors including a third degree misdemeanor offense against violators, according to the National Conference of State Legislatures. There are, however, no state-wide laws regulating tattoo artists’ training and safety standards, reports Sari Harrar for Philly.com.Full Answer >