Q:

How do you see if you qualify under California state disability benefit insurance laws?

A:

Quick Answer

Workers who lose wages because they are unable to work due to a non-work-related illness or injury, pregnancy or childbirth may qualify for state disability benefits, states California's Employment Development Department. These workers must meet certain eligibility requirements.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

California's Disability Insurance program requires workers to be unable to do their regular work for at least eight consecutive days, according to the state's Employment Development Department. They must be either employed or actively looking for work at the time they become disabled, they must have earned a minimum of $300 from which disability insurance was deducted, and they must submit the claim within 49 days of the date they become disabled.

California also requires that workers be under the care of a licensed physician, nurse practitioner or accredited religious practitioner during the first eight days of their disability, reports the California Employment Development Department. The doctor or practitioner must fill out a medical certification. Licensed midwives and nurse-midwives also meet this requirement for claims due to pregnancy and childbirth.

Workers who are ineligible for benefits include those who cannot show a loss of wages from their disability, those who are already receiving unemployment or paid family leave benefits, and those who are receiving worker's compensation benefits at a weekly rate equal to or greater than the DI benefits. Those who become disabled when committing a crime or who are in jail are also ineligible, explains the California Employment Development Department.

Learn more about The West
Sources:

Related Questions

Explore