Q:

Does wine have gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

Wine does not have gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, and since wine is made from grapes, it is inherently devoid of gluten. There are some ways in which wine can come to have gluten in it, however.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Gluten is sometimes used as a clarifying agent because it binds to the insoluble particles in wine, which can then be strained out more easily. In addition, wooden wine casks are sometimes sealed with a gluten-containing paste. Both situations typically result in a gluten contamination of no more than two parts per million. The FDA considers a product to be gluten free if it is below 20 parts per million; therefore, only extremely gluten-sensitive individuals experience symptoms from gluten levels below that threshold.

Learn more about Wine

Related Questions

Explore