Q:

What are some types of grains without gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

Some gluten-free grains include amaranth, buckwheat, corn, finger millet, Job's tears and millet. Others include montina or Indian rice grass, quinoa, rice, sorgum and teff. Wild rice is also a gluten-free grain.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Gluten-free starches to incorporate into a gluten-free diet include arrowroot, beans, cassava, flax and nuts. peas, sago, potatoes, seeds, yucca and tapioca are others.

People wishing to eliminate gluten should avoid bromated flour, bulgur, durum flour, enriched flour and farina. White flour, semolina, self-rising flour and plain flour should also be avoided. They should also avoid grains that might be contaminated with gluten, such as oats, unless the oats are marked as gluten free.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and crosses between rye and wheat, known as triticale. People with celiac disease are generally advised to follow a diet that eliminates gluten, since it causes small intestine inflammation and symptoms of celiac disease. People can be sensitive to gluten without having celiac disease, and a gluten-free diet can also be beneficial for them.

Other than grains, some food that contain gluten that should be avoided on this diet include beer, French fries, gravy, pasta, salad dressings, sauces, seasoned rice mix, vegetables in sauce, and self-basting poultry.

Learn more about Pasta & Grains

Related Questions

Explore