Q:

What type of corn is corn maltodextrin made from?

A:

Quick Answer

Corn maltodextrin is made from organic or genetically modified corn. Corn starch is extracted from the white tissue inside a corn kernel and broken down into smaller polymers of dextrose to form maltodextrin.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

The extracted corn starch is put through partial hydrolysis, where heated water, enzymes and acids react together to create a water soluble white powder known as maltodextrin. These easy to digest carbohydrates are low in fat, fiber and protein and safe for sufferers of celiac disease. Although corn maltodextrin has less than 20 percent sugar content, it is metabolically equivalent to glucose and is a convenient source of energy with around 4 calories per gram.

Learn more about Dry Ingredients

Related Questions

Explore